Home > Linux > Ubuntu 12.10 Amazon Search, HOW TO REMOVE

Ubuntu 12.10 Amazon Search, HOW TO REMOVE

So it’s been quite a long time since my last post. Frankly I’ve been busy with work/personal life, spending time with my little girl and catching up on random chores in and out of the house. Everyone can relate I’m sure.

Well , so new info!! Some of you know that Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal release is right around the corner. I’ve been using it since Beta1 and I have to say it’s coming along nicely. A new feature that has some users in an uproar is the Amazon Search feature in Dash. Whenever searching for new items using the Search Lens the system will now poll results from Amazon.com.

Here’s an example:

I search for Music and note the results from Amazon which populate in as I wait…

To Remove this, Open a Terminal Window <Ctrl-Alt-T>

$sudo apt-get remove unity-lens-shopping

Logout and LogBack then search for MUSIC again

All Fixed.

Hope this helps!! and Enjoy the new 12.10 Features!<

  1. September 27, 2012 at 5:06 am

    Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

